08/08/16 – Communication Assistance

According to the UKHAS guidelines it is the responsibility of those launching a ballon to track it, flights should not rely on other trackers to follow and provide location updates for their flight. As radio tracking is an area that we were unfamiliar with I decided to send an email to the Appledore and District Amateur Radio Club, on the off chance that they may be able to offer some advice or assistance.

To my delight the email was met with much enthusiasm and on Wednesday evening I had a meeting with two very helpful people from the club (Steve Smith and Alan Fisher). Steve had already been experimenting with HAB tracking and had set up some equipment wihich he brought along to demonstrate. To my surprise Steve also arrived with 4 home made YAGI antennas based on the design suggested on the UKHAS web site, two of which he kindly donated to our project.

We discussed several issues which and came up with resolutions for them all, a very fortunate turn of events and I have no doubt that, as long as the transmitter works, we will have no problems tracking the balloon.

IMAG4361
Steve demonstrating his tracking gear
IMAG4362
One of the Yagi antennas

 

 

12 thoughts on “08/08/16 – Communication Assistance

  1. Hey there! Someone in my Facebook group
    shared this site with us so I came to give it a look.
    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to
    my followers! Great blog and amazing style and design. http://www.yahoo.net

    Like

  2. Leyland – I am glad you found the blogs / site of interest. Feel free to share. Are you thinking of doing anything similar (a balloon launch perhaps)? I have a couple of other blogs on the go and am going to try and link them. One of the others is an In Car Entertainment System built around a Rapsberry Pi computer 🙂

    Like

  3. Not often do I encounter a weblog that is both informative and engaging, and
    let me tell you, you may have hit the nail on the head. Your conceptis excellent; the issue is something
    that not sufficient individuals are speaking smartly about.
    I’m happy that I stumbled across this in my pursuit of something relating to this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

